Who’s side are you on anyway?

December 21, 2007

The housing situation in Louisiana must’ve peaked someone’s interest in the news recently. This is beyond riot time. Two years or less in a FEMA trailer demands attention. Two years plus living away from “home” demands much more media attention. The fact remains that there was a big issue with housing prior to Katrina. So what. No one gave a damn. Now its news because its a “Katrina” story.

The issue that I have with recent events is that as a Katrina Victim I’m still labeled a Katrina Victim. In other words, local school district has put me into a demographic catagory called “Hurricane Katrina”. Yeah, big of them wasn’t it? That’s what I discovered this week. I’m pissed off! Instead of what type of dwelling my children and I live in..apt. house, duplex, etc. I get “Hurricane Katrina”. Yeah! My label under the “type of dwelling catagory” ~ Hurricane Katrina. No kidding folks. Nice of them. Just what exactly do they intend by putting me in this catagory? Are we special?

Really, this is how special we are here. The Urban League sent me a letter last week saying that there was a deadline Nov. I missed. In fact, they addressed me as “Hi, new neighbor”. I’d like to slam the SOB’s upside the head and tell them off! The letter went on to say that there was a deadline ( in three days ) for another program they were offering for Christmas. These a******* first contacted me in March or so of 2007 to let me know they were offering “assistance”. In other words, jump through our hoops so that you can wait further, we can decide whether or not you DESERVE our help and we can keep harassing you in the ure. These people suck! These organizations accepted FEDERAL FUNDING from FEMA and others to assist “Hurrican Katrina VIctims” ~ at their leisure, and at Victims expense. Instead of getting assistance to those who requested it at the time of the crisis, government authorities decided the best way to handle the issue was to outsource to these charitable ( ha ha ha) organizations ( ha ha ha). The Urban Legaue. I have a brand new taste in my mouth for them. PUKE. These big shots are getting a paycheck everytime they send me a letter. I asked them how they received my info back in March and to please remove it. They couldn’t give me a phone number for local people in Louisiana to call to gain assistance, at the time. These agencies rival the other non-profits who don’t really have to give back 100% of their funding. They can pocket all but 3% and say they did their job. Meanwhile, people in New Orleans and elsewhere in Louisiana – are homeless. Meanwhile, I’m still not home.

OH! And another thing. There is supposed to be a Katrina Memorial at Charity Hospital Cemetery for those who perished in the hurricane. The Earth Institute at Columbia University headed by John Mutter, jmutter@ei.columbia.edu – this project has some posts in details that are really disrespectful. “Drowned, duh.” for davis, taylor who was 79 female is way outta line. Columbia needs to address the issue PRONTO.

PS Michelle Malkin is flippin clueless on this issue.  She’s still my favorite, though.

One Response to “Who’s side are you on anyway?”


  1. Thanks for this hot post and great blog. It is gratifying to hear from a “Katrina Victim Victim Survivor”. I put your article onto the NO News Ladder today. Wish I had gotten to it sooner but had to go to woik, and didn’t find you on one of many Nola news alerts until this evening.
    I’m also still riding that long Road Ho, but putting out the Ladder each day keeps me sane (and out of McDonald’s with a loaded water gun:)
    If you like the Ladder, I would be honored by a place on your links list.
    Thanks for keeping the light on, Noble Mon.
    Bruce
    editor / NO News Ladder


Leave a comment